Just morning thoughts :-)

Written by Timawa on 4:07 PM

My Nokia 2630 alarm clock worked great for me this morning, but I believe what worked greater is my drive to wake up early... Guess what? I beated the record! Haha. 6 in the morning in a summer vacation day. No lousy student, neither a hard-working one would wake up this early just to do nothing. Since I told in my earlier posts that I'm not a morning person, I would take this waking-up-early routine as my practice for the resume of classes.

Whew. Time flies so fast. June is already coming. Wish I could extend the summer vacay. I've got days left to live it to the fullest, and I'm trying to watch all the DVDs for at least two-day marathon if it's possible. But I've got other things to do so I'll find time for it some other days...

I can say this was one of the best, unforgettable summer vacation in my life. I've been to Baguio again for many years (and I didn't know it will be my last day in Baguio since Supreme Court didn't allow employees to bring with them their children) and for a week I've learned a lot about Baguio only through reading and walking. Haha. Mountain climbing 'literally' is probably one of the happiest thing I've done in life, and it's best to do it in a cold environment.

---

Mommy forgot her fone again. The second time around. As much as I can, I don't want to make a big deal out of it negatively, but I've known my mom as an alert person. This basic valuable is never forgotten, ngayon lang. Could it be that she's slowly losing her memory? We'll all go there but I'm not yet ready. Not that I don't want to talk about it, but I still have to prepare for it. I still have dreams for myself and for my family and God knows my prayer that I don't want things to happen without her being proud of her only daughter. Communication between us will be gone someday, and I don't want this to happen without me being prepared... While I can't seem to explain everything, I know God understands me through this.

---

I've watched four movies this week: Forbidden Kingdom and three other old movies: Anastasia, Chasing Liberty and Princess Diaries II, and I realized it feels so good being a princess! Haha. Forbidden Kingdom is a very good movie, especially for action aficionados because it has a lot of action scenes before Jason brings back the staff rod to the Monkey King. (I literally fell asleep in those scenes and woke up and Jade warlords against the Drunken Master and Jason are still fighting). I like the flow of the story, the simple but complicated circumstances it entails... Enough of it. It's a five star.

Among the three other 'princess' movies, what I least liked is Anastasia... The flow of the movie was good and my eyes are glued from the beginning to the rising scenes but I hated the way Anastasia's grandmama ended it. :-( Though its a great ending for most, I would love to see Anastasia be seated on the throne as princess rather than her risky escape with Bounine. However, despite it's not-so-good ending, I would rate is four star.

Chasing Liberty is a good movie, and based from the title, it's a CHASE movie. I like watching those like Apocalypto co'z it makes my adrenalins rush to life. The flow of the story doesn't surprise me, co'z it's a typical film. I was just amazed by the adventure they had and the stunning beauty of Venice.

My favorite among the three is the Princess Diaries II. I liked the story so much, however, I was disappointed in the college grad Mia who should supposedly and expectedly be acting maturely this time. Sadly, it's still the same old Mia, but not that bad because her character gives much highlight to the humorous side of the story. What I hated is the lodging of the villains to the Genovian palace for an unexplicable reason. Ugh. Guess they have nothing else to think about in order for Nicholas and Mia to bond much as they are the couples destined for each other. But overall, it's a great movie for me :-)

---

What the heck.

I don't want to stare up the beginning of this draft co'z I will be tempted to read it and sooner to revise it. I don't want to cut the flow of my writing here, as long as I wanted to write, I will, basically to practice.

(While some people would say that writing is their way to make that difference, they would be thinking that proving writing competence as for me is the foolish thing to do. I believe it's a decent act, getting money out of writing contests and blogs also is; it's just immature for some people to think some other way and inject a malice in it).

This blog should serve as my online journal, and I usually make posts when I wake up. (It's the common advice of professional writers to make it habit to write every morning to hone your craft). Sad to say, I'm writing everything here, from experiences to common rants.. They say writing on your journal everyday is not an obligation, but who cares? I wanted to write.

Take care and God bless!

Winning could be another game of luck

Written by Timawa on 5:27 PM


Just when I got up this morning, I head straight into my PC to pour down my thoughts. I managed to set up this routine as my practice in joining writing contests, to prepare for the upcoming competitive exam and to hone my skill as well. But guess what, I'm checking my mail and reading at the same time. On the other side of my window is a message from one of my favorite authors, Bo Sanchez, who talks about the story of an hare and a tortoise and the story's relation in being Christian.

Before giving out my insights and reflections, what I wanted to emphasize my fascinations in short stories for children. It makes me feel like I'm a kid again, and those complex lessons in life are boiled into simplicity just so kids will decipher the morales in the story.

Lately, I've been very impatient on winning. I'm not yet contented in my circle of supporters, which include some of the members of my family, my friends, co-writers and professors. They are a bunch, I know, but I wanted to prove my writing competence by winning national contests. It has been my long time dream that I've been wanting to reach. Several times, I've joined many contests but I still don't win... What could be the reason? Are there many others better than me? Well possibly. Am I not competent enough? Hope not.

They say persistence is the name of the game, but God knows how much I'm persisting...

I just pray in heavens that 'maybe,' it's not yet my time.

I believe contests is another game of luck, so more than considering I'm not competent enough, I believe it's not yet my time. (However, it's okay, but honestly, a little bit frustrating.) Who knows, failing many times is the gateway for others to succeed, and yes, it may not yet be my time... But I'll do my best, everything for God's glory.

I just hope my persistence will turn out to be fruitful, to be more productive, especially in helping others. I'll wait patiently, with lots of work. Maybe it's not yet my time. As what I've said in my piece in an essay writing contest, 'someday, after all the waiting in winters and many springs, I will finally be a fully bloomed rose. Maybe now is not yet my season to bloom, God wants me to grow slowly but maturely and not to grow and decay easily'

That's all. Nothing much to write about, just to release my itch in writing. :-) Good day everyone and have a nice day ahead!

Waking up in a dream

Written by Timawa on 10:39 PM

There's something wonderful about waking up this morning...

I don't know. Maybe because I woke up early, and I won't battle with the sun's scorching heat sifting through my window.

I got out of my bed at 7:30, went straight into the comfort room and head right into my desktop to pull the words out of my tongue. And in a wee second, I recall my dream... Something I've been dreaming (or praying) for a year now since I've learned to realized I was having so much fun without knowing my limitations beyond those responsibilities in college life.

I was with my friends at our graduation day, and we were overwhelmed with joy knowing that each of us have finally made it (without anyone being left one) despite all the hardships and sacrifices in our four years of pursuit. What's still vivid in my flights of fancy are the tears and smiles on our faces, especially that toga everyone is wearing proudly.

---

And then I suddenly woke up to reality...

As seconds passes, I started to remember immediately that being with my true friends on my graduation day will forever remain on my fantasy. In the past years of my college life, I've been sleeping so much with conceived dreams, without giving birth to them. I had so much fun way back then, but never did I thought about my future. Each day is living it up to the fullest without thinking of the coming days. And boy, never did I ask myself, "what's next after graduation?"

When I finally learned that I would not be graduating on time, I came to realize all the wasted time and efforts, of sacrifices that turned to nothing. Sooner, I learned to accept the consequences of my actions that I should've done my best in everything even though not knowing my desired course. Maybe God didn't give me the gift of foresight just so I would fight for my dream against all the shackles and boundaries.

---

The rays of the sunlight that spilled through my face woke me up this morning with another day and another hope. This morning is unusual unlike all the other. God woke me up this morning with a thought... "Face this day by putting your dreams into action".

"The best way to reach your dreams is to wake up"

Behind the Notes


Imprinted Graffiti is an online journal of Timawa (not her real name), a Filipino student journalist, who talks about her life struggles and experiences. Feel free to explore her world and enter into her realm of fancies. Good day everyone! God bless! :-)